The One With The Reading Challenge

here is the thing to know about me and projects- I really love them, as far as plans, outlines and lists go. one of my favourite things to do in the world is making motivation and mood-boards, whether that be on Pinterest or the pin-board above my desk. i am going to admit to a slight obsession with cut out illustrations (because they are pretty and inspiring) magazine articles (because I will definitely need to know the five healthiest oils to cook with at some point in my life) and advertisements (because there is no end to my list of ‘if I win the lottery I am buying this..’)

I will still stand by my half-completed scrapbooks and lists of lists because guess what…they actually work!

having said that, of course I am not suggesting that I get everything done, but I helps me keep up with the things that inspire me, the many things I once hope to learn and try… and believe it or not, things do get ticked off of the list.
THE LIST can be located in my yearly planner, it enjoys the highest security clearance as it contains future xmas and birthday gift ideas (yes, i am talking xmas 2014), concert and musical titles waiting to be watched, scrapbook supplies to be bought and short courses to be taken. i give it a read every week and even though i add items way faster than i cross them off, but that crossing off! it’s a moment of perfection! the i-have-worked-for-this or the more appropriate student dictionary phrase i-have-eaten-tesco-sandwiches-for-this-out-of-my-student-loan fills you with such satisfaction, that motivation to take up another sharpie and perform a deadly crossing off never dies!!

one of many summer projects (another post on that to follow) has been to set up a reading challenge to motivate myself getting through my enormous ‘to read’ list. my enthusiasm resulted – as per usual – in many unrealistic options, like ‘100-books-in-100-days’ or ‘365-books-in-a-year’ because…well they sound good. they sound like something I would be proud of having accomplished. however – and you have no idea how hard it is to admit this – I cannot do everything I want in one lifetime, so my new thing is: hold on to my lists, be selective, and do the things that make me happy, that inspire me and help me grow.

I have now incorporated my final year university reading list into the newest edition of books-to-be-read-til-the-end-of-the-year list, which unfortunately resulted in many titles being – yet again – pushed back to the end, but priorities must be made. I am aware of the ambitious scale of the project, but I do trust in my long (and very soon to come!!) holiday in Spain, because there is not many things that are as inseparable as sunbathing and reading a good book. maybe throw in a pina colada… there. you have heaven on earth.

without further ado, I present to you: books-to-be-read-til-the-end-of-the-year

Author Title
1 Sadie Jones Fallout
2 Knausgaard Boyhood Island
3 JKRowling Silkworm
4 JKRowling The Cuckoo’s Calling
5 Making Handmade Books
6 Dickens huckleberry finn
7 Ildiko Boldizsar Fairy Tale Therapy
8 Sylvia Plath The Bell Jar
9 J. M. Coetzee Disgrace
10 J. G. Ballard Crash
11 Michel Houellebecq Atomised
12 Don de Lillo Players
13 Alan Hollinghurst The Line of Beauty
14 Kathy Acker Blood and Gruts in High School
15 Milan Kundera The Unbearable Lightness of Being
16 David Shields Reality Hunger: A manifesto
17 Miguel de Cervantes Don Quixote Part 1
18 Daniel Defoe Moll Flanders
19 Denis Diderot Jacques the Fatalist
20 Jane Austen Persuasion
21 Honore Balzac Pere Goriot
22 Huxley Doors of Perception
23 Gustave Flaubert Madame Bovary
24 Sebastian Faulks Birdsong
25 Stephen King It
26 C S Lewis The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
27 George Eliot Middlemarch
28 Tolstoy Anna Karenina
29 Henry James The Spoils of Poynton
30 Virginia Woolf To the Lighthouse
31 Alain Robbe-Grillet Jealousy
32 Toni Morrison Beloved
33 Apuleius The Tale of Cupid and Psyche’ in The Golden Ass
34 ed. Maria Tatar (Norton Critical) The Classic Fairy Tales
35 ed. W. G. Waters Straparola, The Facetious Nights of Straparol
36 tr. Nancy Canepa Basile, The Tale of Tales
37 tr. Robert L. Mack (Oxfrod World Classics) Selected tales from Arabian nights
38 Charles Perrault Perrault’s Fairy Tales
39 Madame d’Aulnoy (University Pres of the Pacific, 2003) The Fairy Tales of Madame d’Aulnoy
40 Madame de Villeneuve Beauty and the Beast
41 Madame d’Aulnoy (tr. Jack Zipes) Beauty and the Beast, in Beauties, Beasts and Enchantments: Classic French Fairy Tales
42 Grimm tr. Joyce Crick (Oxford Classics) Selected Tales
43 Andersen tr. Tiina Nunally (Penguin) Fairy Tales
44 ed. Marina Balina & Mark Lipovetsky (Northwestern University Press) Pavel Bazhov’s The Malachite Casket and Valentin Kakaev’s The Flower of Seven Colours, in Politizing Magic: An Anthology of Russian and Soviet Fairy Tales
45 Angela Carter The Bloody Chamber
46 Russian Fairy Tales

alas, do not be fooled, you ain’t seen nothing’ yet. the list goes on and on. but as I said…small steps for now.

Comment

